This Day In Paradise


15-two-thieves-and-saviour

I haven’t written in a while, but something has happened which the Lord has impressed upon my heart and I feel an urgency to speak.

I have experienced great turmoil these past few years as I’ve tried to care for my mother with Alzheimer’s and the challenges of my job and family. There have been many other things which have transpired which I won’t go into since I don’t wish to glorify the enemy.

When I returned to work recently I thought that perhaps things would have been smoothed out a bit with our merger, but I was in for a surprise. That was a big “no-go.” Instead, most recently our boss was taken off in a whirlwind of scandal of corruption. What a disappointment though not shocking.

I had to think what a shame it is that today it is no big deal to hear that yet another executive is milking a company for all they can get while bringing harm to the many families that serve to earn profits. They come to serve themselves and leave a trail of devastation behind them.

All of you know from earlier posts, what thieves have done to my father, my disabled brother and me, and so many others; in the hopes of lining their pockets for the short-term payouts and no thought to the great harm that they are causing others due to their greed.

When our president stepped down, another took his place. This man seemed to have a kind heart. We were all praying for the best. Perhaps he was taking on too much. When these thieves leave a trail of disaster, other’s must clean up the mess.

Our new president suffered a heart attack the other night. I was upset and in awe at the same time. As I prayed for him and his family, the Lord reminded me that no matter how wealthy or powerful, we all share death and the grave. But one thing we do not share and we cannot buy is eternal life. No doubt both men have reflected on this at this time in their lives. They both reminded me of two men in scripture.

I thought of the two thieves on the cross. What a picture God gave us of His grace! Two thieves hanging next to Christ that day. They were both guilty of their sins. Christ was an innocent man. As one continued to curse Christ, the other was repentant as he acknowledged that although they were guilty men and deserved to die, Christ had done no wrong. He asked if Christ would remember him when He came into His kingdom. And the famous words of Christ; “truly I say unto you, today you shall be with Me in Paradise.” (Luke 23:32-43).

There are many accounts of similar people and scenarios. We have an emptiness which we cannot fill. The woman at the well-tried to fill her emptiness with relationships. The Lord knew this and addressed her. “The water you drink will leave you thirsty, but if you drink the water which I give you will  never thirst again.” She asked for this water and He told her that “I am the Living Water and if you drink of me you shall never thirst again.”

The Lord wants us to know that He is the answer to all of our needs. In both cases the thieves were hanging right next to the Messiah dying; and yet one was seeking truth and the other was stubborn and unrepentant up until his dying breath. He was mocking Christ right along with the rest of the world. It is sad that many cannot see the Savior reaching out His pierced hands. He loves all of His children equally but will not force Himself upon us. If we reject Him, He will go.

Those He loved never recognized His love and they hated Him and this is what He spoke as He looked over the city; “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing. (Matthew 23:37).

There are many people whom you love and they will not recognize that the Lord has sent you. They will reject you, they will stone you. They will hate you as they hated Him. Pray for them, that the veil will be lifted and their stubborn, unrepentant hearts will be softened so that the Lord will be able to “gather them together” before His coming!

Leave a Reply

